Descending and Flowingmu

ThisDescending’ blog  documents my overland trip from the London, UK back to Geraldton, Australia. I traveled overland (rail, road and  some ferries) for over 3 months, but also had to make two 1500km flights.

The title ‘Descending’ refers to the journeys from north to south, from high-carbon to low-carbon lifestyles and from superficial to deeper engagement with global issues and cultures.

This blog has posts on my cultural experiences, carbon footprint, ratings of different modes of transport and the logistics of overland travel. You can easily navigate using ‘tags’ in the ‘cloud’ in the right hand-column, and by using the menu at the top of the page e.g. ‘Logistics‘ for details of equipment and preparation, Sustainability for details of carbon footprint calculations.

I hope you enjoy reading about my trip, and I welcome all comments or contact. After completing my journey I’ve based myself in the Mid West of WA and been working with various sustainability, leadership and regional development projects including:

yuangyang-padis-andrew-landscape

5 responses to “Descending and Flowingmu

  1. Go nuts mate!

  2. this is going to be great andrew.
    enjoy your adventures.
    good luck
    ralf

  3. Some musings on descending…

    “We, who have always thought of joy as rising… feel the emotion that almost amazes us when a happy thing falls”

    Rilke
    quoted in The Hungry Tide by Amitav Ghosh

  4. Hi Andrew, I think you found me so I have now found you back! Really interesting to read how you did a similar journey to me but from your perspective. You have a lot more useful information than me too, so I shall probably pass on all the people that ask me ‘how did you do it?’ to your blog. I am going to set up a link from my website too.
    Good luck with everything.
    Babs

  5. Hi Andrew,
    I found your blog while searching for Navdanya information, namely about their farm in Dehradun.

    I found your experience very interesting, the way you faced and presented things and your concerns along the way.

    Since I am planning for something similar, and I found my self identifying and sharing many of your views, I thought I could contact you for further tips if I may need…?

    In the meantime… congratulations for achieving… one of your dreams!? :)

    Best wishes!

    Carpe diem
    Cat

Leave a Reply

